Qmail Support Forum Forum Index Qmail Support Forum
Qmail Email Server Support Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Forged Spam Deluge

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Qmail Support Forum Forum Index -> Qmail Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gregory Kuhn
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 4:21 pm    Post subject: Forged Spam Deluge Reply with quote

Dear qmail List,


I have a small website and email hosting and development business and
recently (May 31, 2005) gained a new domain (aardvarkimaging.com) as a
result of a merger between Aardvark Imaging and an existing client of
mine. As soon as the DNS changes went into effect (approx. June 1,
2005) I began to notice an increase in the number of forged email
messages destined for non-existent addresses at aardvarkimaging.com. By
an increase I am talking an 800% increase the first day and as of
yesterday (June 3, 2005) an increase of 1100% (153,068) of the number
for May 31, 2005 (12,947).

I am find interest in this phenomenon because I currently host approx.
250 domains, many of which have been registered for as long as, if not
longer than, the domain in question (registered June 1997) and have
never seen this type of deluge before now.

My question is what did aardvarkimaging.com do to gain this amount of
attention? I am not worried about this attack? if that is what this is
and I am not looking for solutions as this does not seem to cause much
issue with my server. I am just curious why one domain out of 250 would
incur such wrath.

I have searched Google for any clues and the best that I could find was
this;
http://www.snn.gr/com/a/a_006500_com.html which to the best of my
understanding is nothing more than a database of Internet domain names.
I did notice that a great many of the domains I host are not listed in
this database but that aardvarkimaging.com is listed here.

Does anyone have any insight into why and what is the issue with
aardvarkimaging.com and the Internet community?

Thank you in advance.

Gregory Kuhn
Back to top
Rick van Vliet
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Greg-

Looking into groups-beta.google.com
http://groups-beta.google.com/groups?q=aardvarkimaging.com&hl=en
It shows that someone in abuse.sightings saw this aardvaark as a problem
on 5-May 2005, so it doesn't look like it's "you".
And an later report on 20-May, also pre-merger?

Not much more help than that. Good luck.
rick
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Qmail Support Forum Forum Index -> Qmail Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group. Hosted by phpBB.BizHat.com


For Support - http://forums.BizHat.com

Free Web Hosting | Free Forum Hosting | FlashWebHost.com | Image Hosting | Photo Gallery | FreeMarriage.com

Powered by PhpBBweb.com, setup your forum now!